Saturday, September 10, 2011

National Moment of Remembrance for 9/11

Not sure how I missed this, probably because I've banned myself from watching the news this past week. This is a lot more important than anything I could say about weight loss.

Taken from the Dodge City Daily Globe:

This year we mark the 10th anniversary of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, a day that changed America forever. To commemorate this occasion and pay tribute to those we lost, the United States Senate, in an overwhelming demonstration of unity, unanimously passed a resolution (S. Res. 237) establishing a national Moment of Remembrance on September 11, 2011. I write to request that you join us in making this Moment of Remembrance a symbol of solidarity throughout your city and across the country.

 During the Moment of Remembrance, every person across the country is called upon to stop and remember those we lost in the September 11th attacks. The Moment of Remembrance will take place for one full minute at 12:00 p.m. on September 11, 2011, and cities and towns, firehouses, churches and other institutions across the country are called upon to to sound sirens and ring bells during that minute. These sirens and bells will be a signal for each person to stop and remember the people we lost and demonstrate the perseverance the American people have shown since that fateful day.

Taken from City of Auburn, WA events:

Governments and businesses, houses of worship and railways, fire and police departments, and others are called on to ring bells and sound sirens as we observe this Moment of Remembrance. At the same time across the country (1 pm EDT, noon CDT, 11 am MDT, and 10 am PDT) we call on you to reflect on the lives lost and those affected by the tragedies of 9/11.

No comments:

Just a little crazy

I'm a little bit disappointed in my weigh-in this morning, but I know why it's not better than I expected: My last Weight Watc...